Video Retention Update

(Revised Plan)

Aug 29, 2026
I've heard the community feedback about not wanting to delete so many videos in the archive. It is what makes Rewatch Live special. Here is the revised plan:

  • Phase 1 start has been delayed by another week to give everyone more time to download videos.
  • Phase 1 will still delete many videos, but the estimated scale has been reduced in order to keep more videos. So, it is still possible but less likely that a streamer that only you bookmark will have their video deleted. Again, most things will not be deleted. See the original post below for details.

Phase 2 is actually where most video deletion was planned to happen, but given the community feedback so far, I want to get ahead of that and avoid deleting too much. That said, in the end, either we delete videos, or we raise the price.

  • We might explore a small price increase in November or December - the idea being to keep more videos while offseting increased storage price. If we proceed with this, you will have plenty of warnings, emails, notifications from Apple and Google, and oppurtunity to cancel - it will not happen silently.
  • The website (and app update to follow) will clearly mark videos that are planned to be deleted. And will have clear ways to stop that deletion (add to favorites - included in your membership).
  • People who have more disposable income will have a way to buy more favorite space, and or one time "refreshes". Both ways will help raise money to keep videos you choose on the platform for everyone.
  • We will finally be able to add orignal quality, highest resolution recording once this is implemented.

(Original Post)

August 23, 2026

Since the launch of Rewatch Live over 2.5 years ago no videos have ever been deleted (except for opt-outs). This is why we have the most videos of any TT recording app.

We've grown to a scale where the video storage costs are now astronomical, and so we need to take action to reduce storage costs and reinvest that into improving the app.

This change will happen in 2 phases. 

BTW 😍 To help you find old videos to download, the app has been updated to include old username videos that we have in the database with any user that shares the same TikTok ID! Just open up a streamer as usual and scroll down to see if there was more that was found. You can now remove those old bookmarks for old usernames! (Though this doesn't automatically update their username if they change it, so you still may need to do that)

Phase 1

Phase 1 will start later this week - we will start deleting low impact videos to free up space. Please download any videos that you don't want to lose. The goal is most people won't even notice anything was deleted after Phase 1.

This is being done manually and intelligently with the goal being to remove videos that no one cares about.

Here's what will NOT be deleted in Phase 1 - guareenteed these videos will stay:

  • Not deleted: Any video of anyone on autorecord by an active or recent subscriber (this includes their old username videos as long as 1 of their usernames is on autorecord). Doesn't matter how old it is, doesn't matter if only you have them on auto record - it will not be deleted.
  • Not deleted: Any video uploaded in the last 120 days no matter what (even if no one has them added or watches them anymore)
  • Not deleted: Any video of anyone one who is remotely popular (popular = many people bookmarked) no matter what. For Phase 1 we're being really generous with what popular means.

Here's what will get deleted in Phase 1:

  • Old videos recorded by someone who did a free trial and never came back and no one else ever added that streamer.
  • Old videos of streamers that no active or recent subscriber auto records and no one or extremely few people bookmark.
  • Old videos of streamers that are live 24/7 like those TikTok shop channels (this is the only exception to the no videos of those on auto record rule above. these channels are live 24/7 and take up a ton of space for no real value).

(If you're a paying subscriber for over 3 months and there are some usernames that you are afraid will get deleted, dm me or email support@rewatchlive - include your 10 letter id in the top left menu of the app and also the list of usernames you would like to protect from deletion in phase 1. You do NOT need to do this if they are on auto record already. Most likely the videos wouldn't get deleted but I can build a special exemption list to guarantee that if it helps)

Phase 2

We will be launching a website version of Rewatch Live in the future and this is when Phase 2 will begin. At this point our data retention might change again but the core principles will be:

  • Your autorecords will always record and you'll always have at least X days history saved - no matter how much space it takes. No need to manually manage your record space like some other apps.
  • "Popular" streamers will never have their videos deleted, or at least will have significant free automatic video retention.
  • You will have X extra storage space for your 'favorites'. Your favorite videos will never be deleted no matter what.
  • You will always have access to ALL videos that are saved on the platform without having to pay extra unlock fees. As long as someone else recorded or saved it you will be able to watch it.

If you have feedback please let me know in the Discord or Telegram group. Or email [email protected]. Thank you all for supporting the app.